Advisory Board

Responsibilities & Role

  • The BCHE is advised by a scientific Advisory Board. The Advisory Board accompanies the research activities of the BCHE and provides suggestions for the further scientific development of the center. It also advises the BCHE with regard to the promotion of dialogue between the members of the BCHE and healthcare organisations.
  • The Advisory Board is made up of renowned scientists in the area of health economics and high-ranking practitioners from healthcare organisations. The Advisory Board also includes one professor from each of the three member faculties.
  • The members of the Advisory Board are nominated by the faculty assemblies or the relevant committees of the participating institutions on the recommendation of the Board of Directors and elected by the Faculty Assembly of the Faculty of Business and Economics for a period of three years. Re-election is possible.


René P. Buholzer

René P. Buholzer, Dr.rer.publ.HSG, is CEO and Delegate of the Board of Interpharma, the association of research-based pharmaceutical companies in Switzerland since 2017. Prior to joining Interpharma, he was Global Head of Public Policy and Sustainability at Credit Suisse for more than 10 years. Dr. Buholzer holds a PhD from the University of St. Gallen, where he was also a lecturer for 18 years. He is an author of three books and has published widely in the fields of public policy, economic policy and Swiss-EU relations.

Sabina M. De Geest

Sabina M. De Geest is a Professor of Nursing at the Department of Public Health of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Basel. Additionally, she holds adjunct appointments at KU Leuven in Belgium, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Pittsburgh, and New York University. She leads the international PIONEER group, an interdisciplinary research team that focuses on behavioural (e.g. medication adherence), and psychosocial issues in chronically ill patients (e.g. transplantation, rheumatology, and older persons). She is also the co-founder of the Swiss Implementation Science Network (IMPACT).

Yvonne Gilli

Yvonne Gilli, Dr. med., has been President of the Swiss Medical Association (FMH) since 1 February 2021. Yvonne Gilli first completed a training programme as a nurse. She then went on to study medicine at the university of Zürich. She has been working in her own practice as a General practitioner since 1996 with focus on gynaecology and complementary medicine. From 2004 to 2007, she was a cantonal councillor in St. Gallen, and from 2007 to 2015 a member of the National Council.

Ansgar Hebborn

Ansgar Hebborn holds a doctorate in economics and has been Global Policy Leader at F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG in Basel, Switzerland, since 2021. In this capacity, he represents the company in international industry associations and expert committees related to HTA, reimbursement and pricing of innovative healthcare technologies. He chairs the HTA working group of the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations (EFPIA). Previously, as Managing Director of the Research Centre for Social Law and Health Economics at the University of Bayreuth, he dealt in particular with issues relating to the reimbursement of service providers in the GKV.

Christoph Kilchenmann

Christoph Kilchenmann has been Head of the Department “Grundlagen” at santésuisse since 1 October 2017. After studying economics at the University of Bern, he completed his doctorate at the University of Basel. At the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), Kilchenmann first headed the Statistics and Mathematics Section and then the Premiums and Solvency Supervision Section until his move to santésuisse.

Anne Lévy

Anne Lévy, lic. sc. pol., has been Director of the Federal Office of Public Health FOPH since 2020. Lévy was previously CEO of the University Psychiatric Clinics in Basel (UPK) and was Head of Health Protection at the Basel-Stadt Department of Health between 2009 and 2015. In addition to her degree in political science, she holds an Executive MBA from the University of Fribourg.

Christoph R. Meier

Christoph R. Meier is Professor of Clinical Pharmacy & Epidemiology at the University of Basel. He completed his doctorate at the University Hospital of Basel and then worked at the University Hospital of Zurich. In 1995, he completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the Boston Collaborative Drug Surveillance Centre in the USA, during which time he obtained a Master's degree in Epidemiology at Harvard. He was awarded an honorary professorship in 2008 and was appointed Head of Hospital Pharmacy and Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacoepidemiology at the University of Basel in 2009, where he has been Head of Department since 2012.

Alois Stutzer

Alois Stutzer has been Professor of Political Economics at the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Basel since 2009. He studied economics at the University of Zurich and obtained his doctorate in economics in 2001. In 2002, he was a research fellow at the Center for Law and Economics at the University of California in Berkeley. From 2003 to July 2006, he worked as a senior assistant at the Institute for Empirical Economic Research at the University of Zurich before he accepted an offer for an assistant professorship in public economics/public finance at the University of Basel.

Joachim Winter

Joachim Winter has been Professor of Economics and Empirical Economic Research at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich since 2004. He studied economics at the University of Augsburg and the London School of Economics from 1987 to 1993. He obtained his doctorate in 1997 under Axel Börsch-Supan at the University of Mannheim. His habilitation followed in 2002. He was then Deputy Director of the Mannheim Research Institute for Economics and Demographic Change until 2004 when moved to the LMU in Munich.